Home  >  Media center   >   Specials   >   2nd Hainan Island Intl Film Festival   >   Highlights

Intl jury for Golden Coconut Awards unveiled

ehainan.gov.cn | Updated: 2019-11-29

The international jury for the Golden Coconut Awards of the Second Hainan Island International Film Festival (HIIFF) was announced by the HIIFF organizing committee on Nov 28.  

French actress Isabelle Huppert was selected as the chairperson for the jury, which includes other heavyweight figures like American filmmaker Abel Ferrara, Chinese actress Jiang Wenli, and New York-based Macedonian film director Milcho Manchevsk.

The Golden Coconut Awards is a newly added competition event of HIIFF hosted by China Media Group. It consists of three categories - feature-length film, feature-length documentary, and short film, with 10 prizes awarded, including Best Picture, Best Director, Special Jury Prize, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Screenwriter, Best Artistic Contribution, and Best Children's Picture.

To date, over 1,000 films from more than 100 countries and regions have been submitted to the HIIFF organizing committee, with some even shortlisted in other international film festivals like the Berlin International Film Festival and the Venice International Film Festival.


French actress Isabelle Huppert is one of the world's most influential actresses. She has starred in more than 120 films to date. She has been nominated 16 times for the national film award of France, the Caesars Award, and has won many awards at the Cannes Film Festival and the Venice International Film Festival. [Photo/hinews.cn]


Milcho Manchevski, Macedonian renowned film director and screenwriter. [Photo/WeChat account sanyareleased]